Author Sheldon Friedman

Statue of Liberty5-yes.png

A Flashback to the Past

Friedman’s historical saga will take you on a journey from the end of World War I through the beginning of World War II. Explore the complex situations and characters brought to life in this exciting series following Travis Kane through New York, London, Paris and more.


The velvet prison

Set against the pulsating back drop of New York City in social and economic change, young Travis Kane struggles with his passion to be an artist painter, and the conservative demands of his strict grandfather, Barclay Kane.

His mother, unable to come to terms with tragedy, has taken Travis’ infant sister and abandons him, leaving their house in Gramercy Park, and Travis to be raised by the grandfather he adores. Travis enters a New York speakeasy, with a unique idea that will change his life, leading him on an exciting journey, meeting Manhattan’s privileged and studying art in Paris, later finding his way to Broadway.

Meanwhile, Lindsay Wayne’s seamstress mother has a secret, and a passion. Her daughter will become a famous stage actress.

Lindsay and Travis’s worlds collide, and their lives will never be the same again.

satin sashcomverpic.jpg


After the Japanese attack Pearl Harbor in 1941, American lives change dramatically. The Satin Sash continues the breathtaking lives of Travis Kane, Lindsay Wayne and Jean-Paul Renault with all the inherent dangers of the French Resistance, President Roosevelt’s live or die missions, and death defying action when German spies secretly enter the US through it’s ports. A wedding reception and the lives of Travis Kane and his family are thrown into chaos as America enters World War II.

The Satin Sash takes readers on journey through New York, France, London and Ireland. Travis Kane becomes President Roosevelt’s tool in bringing one of the world’s most famous paintings to New York. Racial tensions surface. A famous black activist enters politics and an actress makes choices in the face of heartbreaking tragedy. A public enemy serves his country in wartime and a black artist becomes famous. When a baby is born the future shows promise.

With tension, suspense and surprising plot twists, we continue to follow the lives of the people we loved in The Velvet Prison.


The silk swan

The Silk Swan continues the exciting adventures and lifestyles of Travis Kane, his family and friends following World War II. Friedman’s third installment explores the coming of age issues of their children, heartbreaks, tragedies, passions, joys and what it is was to like to live during the latter part of The Cold War years.

Filled with romance, suspense, racial tensions, family dynamics, sexual tension and political intrigue, the Kane chronicles will remain in your memory long after you read the final pages.

My pic.png

Meet the Author

Sheldon Friedman is the author of The Velvet Prison, The Satin Sash and The Silk Swan. All three books in his historical fiction series follow Travis Kane through his trials and tribulations of growing up in New York during the political implications of World War I, prohibition and rising tensions of World War II. His first installment in the series was named a fiction award finalist by the Colorado Author’s League.  Read more about the series here.

Friedman was born in St. Joseph, Missouri, but has been a long-time resident in Denver, Colorado. He is a University of Denver graduate and also taught legal courses at the University of Colorado Law School, University of Denver Law School and Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver. In 20018, Friedman left his law practice and later joined a national mediation and arbitration firm.

In 2016, Friedman retired from law to pursue is passions for writing. Also an accomplished playwright, Friedman has a number of local reading and productions. His play The Long Goodbye was staged at Denver’s Crossroad’s Theatre in 2010.


Sheldon loves to hear from his readers!

have thoughts on the series, or questions for the author?
Be in touch directly at